This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

7.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
6.5
Property location
8.0
Facilities
6.5
Staff
7.7
Value
7.2
Reviews
    Sarah
    gb
    4.2
    19 January 2018
    Look elsewhere
    Room tiny, dirty, mouldy, sagging stained ceiling, small tv, poor wifi, thin walls, very noisy, beds very uncomfortable, only towels offered are hand towels, breakfast poor no fruit or juices just toast and small amount of meats. Smoking area closed at 10pm until 8am. This is a budget hotel, however, I feel you could get better for your money.
    Che
    gb
    7.5
    17 January 2018
    Pleasant
    Great location
    Antanas LT
    gb
    10
    16 January 2018
    Clean, cheap,central location, close to metro,tram and bus lines ,very friendly helpful staff.
    I was happy with everything.
    We liked location, very central , close to center, just 10 min walk and you in the middle of town.Nice green park right in front of the house, very quiet, bed could be better but lining was very clean as room also. washing basin in the room. decent breakfast with good choice of meats, cereals and etc.very good value for the money you pay. If i ever visit Amsterdam ( i m sure i will ) i would happily stay in this hotel again.
    MARIEL
    mx
    9.2
    15 January 2018
    Great location
    Marc
    gb
    6.2
    12 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Darren
    cz
    8.8
    8 January 2018
    Great location to tour the wondereful city of Amsterdam!
    Heating was either really hot or not.
    Knowledge and helpfulness of the staff.
    ie
    5.0
    8 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    PatyMP
    de
    5.4
    7 January 2018
    Bad.
    Staff was not friendly and even agressive with me at some point. The man that did our check in was not super friendly, but at least he was polite, i think his name was Brand, or something similiar to this. On the other hand, the other reception guy, that was there on the 25th/26th of December was really rude to me, I absolutely did not asked his name. The first night at this hotel my charger exploded as soon as conected to the plug in room 8, bringing down the electricity of all the other plugs in the room. We call the "not rude" receptionist (Brand, maybe), and he turned the power back up and ask us not the use the said plug again. By the time of our check out, I went and told the other receptionist what happend, and asked him if the hotel would consider to replace my chager, because was a new original Samsung charger and they are not cheap. This man than started to talk really agressive to me and also super loud, and it has to be consider that we were on the breakfast room, in a moment that was completly full, all the sits were taking. He began to say that I should better prove it that this was the fault of the hotel, and that the charger exploding was for sure my fault, because it was probably wet (...?). I really hate confontration and I am a calm person, so I told him that no, my charger was not wet, it was originial and new, so that it was likely that exploded because of old wiring of the old building that the hotel is located. He continued to speak as loud as he could, even with all the people having breakfast staring at us, with his arms wide open in my direction, saying that the hotel also have a few vacum cleaners that got burned when pluged, and that´s no reason to say it is a problem of wiring (for me that absolutely proves that the plugs on the hotel can not be trusted) and that OF COURSE that was my fault and my fault ONLY...
    Easy access with trams, nice breakfast room.
    Donald E. Achugo
    it
    7.1
    6 January 2018
    It is near the center of the city. It is good for tourists.
    ch
    7.9
    5 January 2018
    Pleasant stay
    The heating stopped working during the night and it got really cold. Thin walls.
    Very friendly and helpful staff! Quiet environment, not too far from the center.
    Xendra
    my
    10
    5 January 2018
    Good location and friendly staff
    Overall is excellent
    The convient of the location
    MIRRA
    ru
    10
    5 January 2018
    Near the centre.
    ch
    7.5
    4 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au
    6.7
    4 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gareth
    nz
    8.8
    3 January 2018
    Great place and stay spoiled by noisy guests and seemingly nobody around to quiet them down at 3am.
    Noisy guests at 3am in the lounge/reception area despite apparent 24 hour reception. The noise went on for ages, we were on the ground floor and unable to sleep.
    Stayed here many times before. The location is good, walking distance to everywhere but in a quiet neighborhood. Staff are friendly. Place is always clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good enough for the price. Nice hot showers.
    Rei G
    se
    7.1
    1 January 2018
    Travelled on a small budget and just needed something comfy, clean and central. Hortus delivered.
    Very steep stairs (be careful here), mediocre staff who doesn’t take any interest in their guests at all, teeny tiny bathrooms and cold water in the tap to wash hands with.
    If all you’re looking for is a clean place and a warm bed in a central location then this is the place for you. During our time there the weather was cold, windy and rainy so it was such a treat to come back to a warm bedroom with excellent heating system and a comfortable bed with a fluffy duvet.
    Fiona
    gb
    8.3
    1 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Thomas
    gb
    7.5
    31 December 2017
    Friendly and informative staff, great place to stay, if you plan on being out and about during the d
    TV was really small. No issue but we spent a day chilling inside and there's nothing really to do.
    Cool place to chill out. Free breakfast was good and free coffee. It's really a place to sleep and get set up for a day out.
    gb
    7.1
    30 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    fr
    7.9
    30 December 2017
    One of the breakfast guys was not very nice banging a door all the time and having a slightly aggressive attitude
    The lady at the reception is very nice
Loading reviews
Close